Hunter Valley and Beyond 2009 - Day 4

 

Wednesday, 31 December 2008 (New Years Eve)

We spend the day looking around the sights and checking out potential venues for the viewing of the fireworks. Should be different to seeing it on TV. It is just after lunch and already people are settled in or arriving with their eskys at the best spots. I don’t have any desire to sit all day in the sun just to watch a few minutes of fireworks.

Later in the afternoon we grab load up our stools, thermos, cups etc, grab a pizza and head for a vantage point on the sidewalk at Rosebay. Yep, plenty of room, park beside a Honda 600 who comes over and moves it to give the wing a bit more room and we settle in with new friends from Penrith to wait. This is a circus, complete with great entertainment. Cars going every which way, people playing Russian roulette crossing the road, drop-off wherever a car can stop, even the police get in the act as two cars meet going each way and pull up in the middle of the street, put on the lights and have a chat. The crowd builds up to a point where it is impossible to move on the footpath. Glad we got here reasonably early. Later in the evening, just as the early fireworks start, one of the police cars returns, stops in the outside lane, switches the re and blues on and sits there watching the fireworks. Good show and a great vantage point.

After the early fireworks, we head back to the accommodation to watch the late show from the back yard. While we can’t hear the fireworks, we can certainly see most of them and we don’t have to fight the crowd to come home.

 

  • Overlooking Sydney Harbour
  • Lighting up the harbour
  • Sydney New Year fireworks
  • Sydney New Year fireworks
  • Sydney New Year fireworks
  • Sydney New Year fireworks
  • Sydney New Year fireworks
     

 

Next page

- or -

Go to a specific page

Week 1
Day
Week 2
Day

Sunday, 28 December 2008

Monday, 29 December 2008

Tuesday, 30 December 2008

Wednesday 31 December 2008

Thursday, 1 January 2009

Friday, 2 January 2009

Saturday, 3 January 2009

Sunday, 4 January 2009

Day 01

Day 02

Day 03

Day 04

Day 05

Day 06

Day 07

Day 08

Monday, 5 January 2009

Tuesday, 6 January 2009

Wednesday, 7 January 2009

Thursday, 8 January 2009

Friday, 9 January 2009

Saturday, 10 January 2009

Sunday, 11 January 2009

Day 09

Day 10

Day 11

Day 12

Day 13

Day 14

Day 15

 

Return to Ride Stories